top of page

Looking Forward...

Updated: Apr 12



It's been awhile! Here in Upstate NY we are just starting to come out of hibernation. And just as we started to feel the cold air become warm and the birds started to chirp their spring song each morning and the horses started to shed, we got another foot of snow! Kind of like life, we try to move forward but have set backs along the way. But we keep looking, looking where we are going. That is what you have to do when you are riding, so why not in life! Although the horse will ultimately determine where you go, you are the one who guides their path. If you look at the ground where your horse is standing, then that is where you will stay! But if you put your head up and look forward, look where you want to go, your horse will feel your motivation to move and that's when the ride begins! I've spent the last few months evaluating where I am, and now it's time to start moving forward. And honestly, I've spent a little too much time pausing to reflex where I've been and what I'm currently doing that it has stopped me from really working on what's ahead. Now that spring is coming, it is hard not to feel like I have to race down the trail to get caught up to where I thought I should be. But if I don't get started then I most certainly won't ever get there. Better late then not at all, right! So time to not only look where I'm going, but give the horse a little squeeze and "smooch" and let's get this ride started!!


I'm headed back to Texas in April (ahhhh, that is only 2 weeks away!!) for the second of five Chris Cox Horsemanship Clinics (not sure how long it will take me to finish all 5 clinics, but that is me looking forward!). I had grand plans to get more riding in, get in better shape, and be more prepared for this clinic. But with winter weather and kids' schedules and just life in general, I didn't get nearly as much done to prepare as I had hoped. That isn't going to stop me from trying to do as much as possible in the next couple weeks, but it does weigh heavy on my heart that I let myself down yet again. Why do we do that? If someone else had these same expectations of me then I most certainly would have accomplished them. So why is it so hard to do the things that I have asked of myself? Am I letting myself down? Or am I asking too much of myself? I wish I had an answer for you since I'm sure you may be struggling with some of the same obstacles. So let's look forward together! Stop looking at where we've been or where we are and start moving down the path. I can not wait to experience this next horsemanship journey and share with you what I learn at the clinic when I return.


Once we put our hearts into accomplishing something, then anything is possible.


Keep Dreaming,

Michelle

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page